Green Business

Green Seal Standards

Our sustainability standards for products, services, and companies are based on life-cycle research, and are developed in an open, transparent, and stakeholder-involved process. Green Seal standards provide criteria and guidelines for manufacturers, service providers, and companies to work toward sustainability and Green Seal certification. Green Seal has 33 issued standards that cover 400 product and service categories.


Hotels & Lodging

GS-33 Hotels and Lodging Properties

GS-33 establishes requirements for hotels and lodging properties. This standard does not include swimming pools, golf courses, or restaurants associated with the property.

GS-33 has three levels under which a lodging property may apply for certification: bronze, silver and gold.

Since it was first published in 1999,GS-33 has represented leadership in the industry.

Key Evaluation Categories:

  • waste minimization
  • energy conservation and management
  • management of fresh water resources and waste water management
  • pollution prevention
  • environmentally sensitive purchasing.
The standard also serves as a tool to help hotels and lodging properties consider practical steps for reducing the impacts of their operations.