Green Business

Green Seal Standards

Our sustainability standards for products, services, and companies are based on life-cycle research, and are developed in an open, transparent, and stakeholder-involved process. Green Seal standards provide criteria and guidelines for manufacturers, service providers, and companies to work toward sustainability and Green Seal certification. Green Seal has 33 issued standards that cover 400 product and service categories.


Building & Construction Products

GS-54 Architectural Thermal Insulation Materials

Get your product certified to GS-54   Find GS-54 Certified Products
Download the Full Standard:

GS-54, Standard for Insulation
Edition 1.1, June 29, 2017

Information about the Standard Development
News about the Insulation Standard
This standard establishes environmental, health, and performance requirements for architectural insulation materials that provide thermal resistance and are used in buildings. Insulation materials may be in the form of batts, blankets, rolls, boards, blown-in / loose fill, spray foam, rigid foam, low-density foam, or rigid fiber.

The standard covers the following product categories:
  • Fiberglass
  • Rock wool
  • Polyurethane
  • Polystyrene
  • Paper, wood, and other cellulose materials
  • Polyisocyanurate
  • Reflective insulation
  • Denim and other fabrics
  • Vermiculite
  • Perlite
  • Animal wool

Green Seal sets leadership standards that aim to reduce, to the extent technologically and economically feasible, the environmental, health, and social impacts throughout the life-cycle of products, services, and companies.  The standards may be used for conformity assessment, purchaser specifications, and public education.