Green Business

Green Seal Standards

Our sustainability standards for products, services, and companies are based on life-cycle research, and are developed in an open, transparent, and stakeholder-involved process. Green Seal standards provide criteria and guidelines for manufacturers, service providers, and companies to work toward sustainability and Green Seal certification. Green Seal has 33 issued standards that cover 400 product and service categories.


Paints, Coatings, Stains, and Sealers

GS-11 Paints, Coatings, Stains, and Sealers

This standard establishes environmental, health, and performance requirements for certain architectural coatings that are intended to be applied on-site, and for stains, finishes, and sealers.

The standard covers the following product categories:
  • Wall and ceiling coatings, including paints and reflective wall coatings
  • Anti-corrosive coatings, including rust-preventative coatings
  • Floor paints
  • Primers (undercoats)
  • Stains and finishes
  • Sealers, including concrete and masonry sealers.

The standard includes products intended to be applied to wallboard, tile, metal, wood, composite wood, concrete, stone, masonry, and terrazzo substrates, as well as other architectural substrates.

Green Seal sets leadership standards that aim to reduce, to the extent technologically and economically feasible, the environmental, health, and social impacts throughout the life-cycle of products, services, and companies. The standards may be used for conformity assessment, purchaser specifications, and public education.