Green Business

Green Seal Standards

Our sustainability standards for products, services, and companies are based on life-cycle research, and are developed in an open, transparent, and stakeholder-involved process. Green Seal standards provide criteria and guidelines for manufacturers, service providers, and companies to work toward sustainability and Green Seal certification. Green Seal has 33 issued standards that cover 400 product and service categories.


Lighting & Control Products

GS-05 Compact Fluorescent Lamps (CFLs)

GS-5 establishes environmental requirements for compact fluorescent lamps including:

  • E26 medium screw ballast adaptors
  • E26 medium screw fluorescent self-ballasted lamps
  • And E26 medium screw lampholder conversion kits.
The standard includes product performance and quality requirements and environmental health requirements such as energy efficiency, reduced toxicity (mercury limits), and packaging.

Green Seal sets leadership standards that aim to reduce, to the extent technologically and economically feasible, the environmental, health, and social impacts throughout the life-cycle of products, services, and companies. The standards may be used for conformity assessment, purchaser specifications, and public education.